Hearing Heart

I preached this last Sunday… sharing thoughts from my trip Liberia. Most of my content came from this experience I had with a story about an evil tree.

watch….

What I appreciate about going to Africa is the openness of the spiritual realm that’s there. It challenges me to remember that not everything can be solved with practical/reasonable actions. That in fact the problems and brokenness in the world is very layered…. and what we need to have is a hearing heart – to listen to the Spirit and do what He leads us to do to bring healing and redemption. I looked at David and his life and what he passes to Solomon when Solomon became king. Here are the passages I used….

Psalm 78:70-72
He chose David his servant and took him from the sheep pens; from tending the sheep he brought him to be the shepherd of his people Jacob, of Israel his inheritance.  And David shepherded them with integrity of heart; with skillful hands he led them.
 
1 Chronicles 28:9
“And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father, and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mind, for the LORD searches every heart and understands every motive behind the thoughts. If you seek him, he will be found by you; but if you forsake him, he will reject you forever.
 
1 Kings 3:5-9
In Gibeon the LORD appeared to Solomon in a dream at night; and God said, “Ask what you wish me to give you.”
Then Solomon said, “You have shown great lovingkindness to Your servant David my father, according as he walked before You in truth and righteousness and uprightness of heart toward You; and You have reserved for him this great lovingkindness, that You have given him a son to sit on his throne, as it is this day.

 

Now, O LORD my God, You have made Your servant king in place of my father David, yet I am but a little child; I do not know how to go out or come in.Your servant is in the midst of Your people which You have chosen, a great people who are too many to be numbered or counted.

 

“So give Your servant an hearing heart to judge Your people to discern between good and evil. For who is able to judge this great people of Yours?”

there was much more and if you want to listen to the whole thing, the link is below….

listen

The painting I made I made before I preached…. so it’s a studio piece. It’s something I had in my head as I was preparing for my talk… and since I’m a painter, I decided to make a painting.

Personal note:

It’s been an interesting journey here at Ecclesia. It’s been awhile since I worked at a church and I’m finding that as I continue here, I have these moments of deep healing that are so refreshing.

On Sunday, my first run through at 9am was pretty scattered. Chris after the service ran through my sermon with me and helped me in some of the shaky points. I ended up (on my own) reworking the structure and I felt like it was a better narrative for the 11am service. So Chris, thanks for that. Its been awhile since a leader actually sat down and did that with me.

Secondly, for the 1pm, since we were talking about spending time listening to God’s voice, I felt like we corporately should actually spend time doing that. So when I got to the end of my time speaking, I started to lead the audience into a corporate time of prayer and listening. But as I started to do that, I immediately felt like and goober and “who am I to do this?” I realized that I was hitting some kind of wound/wall here…. that somewhere in the past I no longer felt like I could actually lead people in growing deeper with God. I wasn’t good enough or pastorally enough to do this. I don’t know where this lie came from but I knew I needed to get over it. So I pushed through and it was a very intimate time together. During the 530 service, we went even deeper and it felt a lot less awkward.

All this to say is I had another moment of healing here in my role at Ecclesia.

For that I am grateful.

About scotterickson

curator of awesomeness scottericksonart.com
This entry was posted in ecclesia houston, live painting, worship art, worship painting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hearing Heart

  1. Greg Wythe says:

    Scott,

    The 5:30 service was my first time at Ecclesia and I’ve decided to call the place home. I loved that time together, finding places within ourselves where we put things in the way of listening to God (and hopefully destroying them).

    I also remember thinking that for catching a message delivered three times earlier in the day, the last one had a very good sense of raw authenticity to it – definitely not over-rehearsed. Reading this, I guess I see why part of that may be the case. All in all, it was a great experience and the message was one that really stuck with me. Hope to hear more like that in the future.

    – Greg

  2. Pingback: Feels Like the First Time « Faith-Based Blog

Leave a Reply

